Discuss your case!

Arrested for a DUI?  Possible Penalties in Arizona

In 2014, Arizona DUI arrests totaled 28,471.[1]  While the number of DUI arrests has decreased over the past few years, Arizona drivers still face some of the nation’s strictest DUI penalties.  It is essential to hire an experienced attorney to manage an Arizona DUI cases.  Obtaining the right attorney may prove the deciding factor in whether or not you will face jail or prison time.

 

Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-1381 mandates charging an individual with a DUI if:

(1) A person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or more while driving;

(2) Is driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, a vapor releasing substance holding toxic substances, or any combination and the person is impaired to the slightest degree; or

(3) Driving while there is an illegal drug or metabolite in the driver’s system.

 

Penalties for a DUI include the following:

(1) A minimum of twenty-four (24) hours in jail;

(2) An ignition interlock device (IID) placed on your vehicle for twelve (12) months;

(3) Fines, jail fees, and other costs up to $2,000; and

(4) Permanent misdemeanor criminal record.

 

Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-1382(1) mandates that someone driving with a BAC of .15 or more will be charged with an Extreme DUI.

Penalties for an Extreme DUI in Arizona include the following:

(1) A minimum of least thirty (30) days in jail;

(2) An ignition interlock device (IID) placed on your vehicle for twelve (12) months;

(3) Fines, jail fees and other costs up to $7,000; and

(4) A permanent criminal misdemeanor record.

 

Arizona Revised Statute Title 28-1382(2), enacted in September 2007, mandates charging individuals driving with a BAC of .20 or above with a Super Extreme DUI.

Penalties for a Super Extreme DUI in Arizona include the following:

(1) A minimum forty-five (45) days in jail;

(2) An ignition interlock device (IID) placed on your vehicle for eighteen (18) months;

(3) Jail fines, fees and other costs up to $13,000; and

(4) A permanent misdemeanor criminal record.

 

Arizona Revised Statutes Title 28-1384 mandates charging individuals with an Aggravated DUI for any of the following reasons:

(1) Committing a DUI while there is a restriction on your driver’s license;

(2) Committing a DUI while there is a restriction on your privilege to drive due to drunk driving;

(3) Committing a third or subsequent DUI charge within seven years; and

(4) Committing a DUI while an individual under fifteen years of age is in your automobile.

 

Penalties for an Aggravated DUI include the following:

(1) A minimum of four months in the Department of Corrections;

(2) Three years driver’s license revocation;

(3) Fees, fines, and other costs up to $15,000; and

(4) A permanent felony on your record.

 

Penalties increase significantly if you have been convicted of a DUI within the past seven years or if you are underage at the time of the offense.  If charged with DUI in Arizona, hire an experienced DUI attorney to explain your rights and legal options.

[1]“DUI arrests down for 3rd year on Arizona highways,” Jim Walsh, The Republic, January 2, 2015, http://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/arizona/2015/01/02/dui-arrests-rd-year-arizona-highways/21214789/