Injured in Arizona? The Clock is Ticking on Your Claim
The world was recently shocked by the appearance of a video of a Texas Judge William Adams violently beating his then-16 year-old daughter, Hillary Adams with a belt. Hillary, now 23, posted the video of her abuse on YouTube where it has been viewed more than 2 million times. As various experts and news reporters have begun processing the incident, one of the questions that has come up is whether she has any legal recourse. Unfortunately, Hillary’s options may be limited because the statute of limitations may have run.
What if this had happened in Arizona? Would Hillary be able to file a claim for her injuries and the pain and suffering that she endured?
The statute of limitations is the amount of time in which you must file a lawsuit for injuries that have occurred. There are statutes of limitation for criminal and civil claims.
In Arizona, you must file your personal injury claim within two years of being injured. In Hillary’s case, her date of injury is the date on which the beating occurred. There are situations where people are injured and it is not obvious that you’ve been injured, such as getting a hip replacement and not knowing for years that the doctor used a defective hip. In those cases, you have two years from the date a reasonable person would have discovered the injury.
Hillary’s situation is special because she was injured when she was a child. The law in Arizona says that if you are injured when you are a minor (under 18), you have two years from your 18th birthday to bring a personal injury claim. For a child who is beaten at 16 years old, they have until their 20th birthday to bring a claim against their attacker.